When do you vote for your favorite?

Supervisor of Elections Dana Southerland and Tax Collector Mark Wiggins will both serve a second term in office after the qualifying deadline for the 2016 election cycle arrived Friday, June 24, at 12 noon with neither official receiving a challenger.

Including Southerland and Wiggins, all 38 county candidates qualified by the deadline. Three people running for seats on the Taylor County Soil and Water Conservation Board were unopposed in their efforts to either retain their seat or claim a new one. Incumbents Joe LaValle (Seat 2) and Catherine Bethea (Seat 5) will remain in office, while Walter F. Godwin was the only person to run for the open Seat 3.

Subscribe to our e-Edition and read the rest of the story. Already a subscriber? Click here to sign in.