BREAKING: Governor declares state of emergency in 26 counties, including Taylor

Citing the severe weather moving across the Florida Panhandle today (April 30) as well as the large amounts of rain which have already impacted the area, Florida Gov. Rick Scott has declared a state of emergency for 26 counties, including Taylor County.

Taylor County has been under a local state of emergency for the past two weeks as officials deal with widespread flooding across the county.

The state declaration includes the following counties: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Liberty, Franklin, Gadsden, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, and Alachua Counties.

Additionally, the State Emergency Operations Center in Tallahassee has been activated to Level Two in response to the severe weather and flooding in the Florida Panhandle. The State Emergency Response Team will continue to monitor the situation, and provide support to counties impacted by the storm.

“It is imperative that those individuals in the path of this storm system monitor the emerging situation and follow all instructions from local officials,” said FDEM Director Bryan W. Koon. “All Floridians should stay alert to possible impacts of this storm system. Do not drive into flood water.”

Subscribe to our e-Edition and read the rest of the story. Already a subscriber? Click here to sign in.